hide   Compare prices on Computers & Electronics at our sister site, PriceCanada.com!
Stretch interface sizeReset interface & text size
Go Back   RedFlagDeals.com Forums > Buy, Sell, and Trading Post > Scammers and Warnings

Reply  
 
Thread Tools
Old May 25th, 2009, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default Scammed for $385 by nokiafanatic

Really wish I didn't have to post here but I guess it happens to everyone.
Got a PM From nokiafanatic stating he had a blackberry 8900 brand new for me and I just had to send him EMT for it and he'd get it out. Sent EMT after a day, gave me a contact number as well as his email, eBay feedback which I contacted him through and everything seemed good. I know it's only been a day but I haven't heard from him since and I called the number I was provided and reached a voicemail with the name Ziggy.
He gave me the name of Edward Tanner from BC.

Beware guys, I'm staying hopeful but it's already looking grim.
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links - Join the RedFlagDeals.com community and remove this ad.
Old May 25th, 2009, 08:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Sr. Member
 
Gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 6th, 2006
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 618

BST Feedback: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to Gogi Send a message via MSN to Gogi
Default

Same here man...sent him 400 for a Bold. Seems to have changed his name from "Edward Tanner" to ziggy. This is my second time getting ripped off on this site, I'm down 800 bucks on this site, and its safe to say I'll never do a transaction on here again. I'll give him a chance before I talk to fraud investigators. The money went into sopmebody's account. Bigkyle, I'll contact you later as I'm typing all this from my celly at work. He gave me the same thing...phone checked out, ebay had 50 feedbacks, and sent a pic with the box and my name on it.

This one's not lookin' good.
Gogi is offline  
Send a private message to Gogi Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
JAC
Deal Guru
 
JAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 17th, 2001
Location: Courtice, ON
Posts: 10,606

BST Feedback: (13)
Default

He'd already been reported as bad. WHY IS HE NOT BANNED?

http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/s...t=nokiafanatic

You should have searched the forums.
JAC is online now  
Send a private message to JAC Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
mcg
Deal Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 15th, 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,884

BST Feedback: (69)
Default

come on RFD mods, pick up your asses...

Wheres nsx when you need him
__________________
HOFO / HEATWARE

mcg is online now  
Send a private message to mcg Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sr. Member
 
Gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 6th, 2006
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 618

BST Feedback: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to Gogi Send a message via MSN to Gogi
Default

The IP could potentially reveal some info, hopefully we can receive some info from the mods. I will post the info I was given tonight.
Gogi is offline  
Send a private message to Gogi Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

I had searched the forum and nothing came up, terrible because he tried getting me with the Amourek email as well, glad to see he got what he wanted. Gogi please keep in touch as I'd love to get some kind of closure. And I'm kind of disappointed that RFD let this slide through the cracks
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

Hope the money was worth it bud, you got some pissed off people onto you now for sure.
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Sr. Member
 
Gogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 6th, 2006
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 618

BST Feedback: (13)
Send a message via ICQ to Gogi Send a message via MSN to Gogi
Default

Kyle, where are you from ? I'm on my phone so its a bit tough to see...but regardless, make sure you notify your local authorities, and go to your local branch first thing in the morning. Tell them to print off as many details about the emt as possible, and take it to the police station. I've gone through this before (unfortunately, got scammed by grandcherokee for the same amount). Don't get your hopes up...we'll probably never see the money again. Pm me your msn, so we can share the conversations we had with him.
Gogi is offline  
Send a private message to Gogi Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

I'm from windsor ontario. I sent you a pm as I'm on my phone as well. Throw me an email if you'd like at kylehaig90(AT)gmail(DOT)com
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

Also, I have a cell phone number.. If authorities get involved couldn't they call the service provider to obtain the account holder's info?
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 1st, 2006
Posts: 18

BST Feedback: (0)
Default

man i hope you get your money back. never back down, keep on fighting!
acoz is offline  
Send a private message to acoz Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 7th, 2008
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 82

BST Feedback: (10)
Default

Was about to buy that Bold from him, but then again I gave it a real though. People are selling 500ish for a BNIB Bold, and he's selling it for 420? The point is, if people are selling it for 500ish, and it's easy to find buyer if you're selling it for 500, why the hell is he posting 420 for a BNIB. Plus, he offered me 420 shipped, but then 5 minutes later, he gave me 400 shipped. It's way too fishy for me.
X820 is offline  
Send a private message to X820 Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

I know when I was getting Bolds and Javelins I had to sell for about $460 shipped for the simple fact that I'm not in the GTA and the phone would have to be shipped. It didn't seem too far off so I figured I'd go for it. eBay feedback matched up as well as a phone number was provided, it didn't seem really fishy at all.
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 10:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Deal Addict
 
THE JEW (RaVeN)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 3rd, 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,298

BST Feedback: (4)
Default

Sometimes a few extra bucks are worth the in person pick up.

Getting scammed sucks--the links in my sig show that. Hope you get some of it back.
THE JEW (RaVeN) is offline  
Send a private message to THE JEW (RaVeN) Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 01:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
bigkyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 25th, 2006
Location: WINDSOR
Posts: 490

BST Feedback: (5)
Default

http://howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1504990
bigkyle is offline  
Send a private message to bigkyle Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.






Copyright © 2000 - RedFlagDeals.com. All rights reserved. (Terms of Use, Privacy Policy)
Yellow Pages Group
Yellow Pages Group and the Walking fingers design logo are trademarks of Yellow Pages Group Co. in Canada.
Close this bar

Welcome to RedFlagDeals.com - Canada's Largest Bargain Hunting Community!

If this is your first visit, the most popular forums are:

  • Hot Deals - Deals from retailers all across Canada
  • Freebies - Free samples that you can sign up for online
  • Contests - Contests from around the Internet
Sign up now!

Why join RedFlagDeals.com?

Join a community of over 200,000 bargain hunters from all across Canada. As a member you can post comments, ask questions, and share deals, coupons, and freebies! Best of all, signing up is free!