Personal Finance

I'm a Real Estate Agent - - Ask Me Anything

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 27th, 2015 8:57 pm
Feb 9, 2008
57 posts
20 upvotes
How hard is it to become a real estate agent?

I mean, do you need a degree, or any business education? How long does it take?
Deal Expert
Aug 18, 2005
21223 posts
5939 upvotes
Burlington-Hamilton
Donnie740 wrote: I'm a realtor with Re Max and would be happy to answer any of your questions related to buying/selling real estate. Note that I deal mostly with residential property, so if you've got a commercial question I may not know the immediate answer off the top of my head - - but I'll do some research into it and get you a response.
Can you please give us a rundown of some of the stupidest / funniest things you have seen people do in an effort to sell their home (or lack thereof)?
- casual gastronomist -
Banned
Jun 4, 2009
387 posts
1 upvote
Toronto
chincer wrote: How hard is it to become a real estate agent?

Not hard and not much.
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2004
3495 posts
189 upvotes
Toronto
chincer wrote: How hard is it to become a real estate agent?

I'm currently taking the courses to become an agent, and to be realistic anyone can pass these courses if you take the time to study.

Basically requirements are as follows

3 courses (1 exam each)
Articling stage (can being selling, but require enrollment into all boards/associations as well as insurance)
3 more courses - fully licensed

Continuing education required after, yearly fees also required.
Feb 26, 2009
225 posts
19 upvotes
Jungle wrote: When I listed my house for sale, the agent said in 2007, he sold 40 houses. (about 3 houses per month) Medien price was $225,000, according to TREB. Multiply that by his share of the pie, (2.5%) that's $225,000 of income for that year.

Realtors can make a lot of money..