PDA

View Full Version : User 'sabertooth': credit card farmer


Eli
Jul 12th, 2009, 10:54 AM
The gentleman going by the name of 'sabertooth' posted a thread about the Retailedge promotion, offering to act as a middle-man to help someone get one of the deals with his tech-employee status. He'd use your credit card info and address and have the bundle shipped to you. I was naive and took the risk, only to have all communication with this guy stop and around $1000 charged to my Visa from Amazon.com, Newegg, and NCIX. At least one other person responded to his ad and was rudely brushed off when he refused to send his info.

A little research shows that his name is (probably) Bill Wu from Richmond BC. Guess he's looking for someone to buy him a new PC. Hopefully my credit card company has their way with him.

JAC
Jul 12th, 2009, 12:12 PM
User: sabertooth

RFD Duplicate account: billccwu

email: oh_my_godd@hotmail.com

Location: Vancouver, Canada

Age: 22

Other Aliases: AznPoo, frozendeadbaby

Website: http://otacust.googlepages.com/

Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=61863

ben_liu
Jul 12th, 2009, 02:06 PM
Hi, unfortunately, I no longer have the PM's between me and Sabertooth, but I was the first to PM regarding the i7 Package. I thought it was pretty fishy when he asked for my full credit card info so he can charge it with that when he buys the package. Instead, I called him out as a scammer and he sent me a disgusting PM.

I feel bad now that Eli had to go through this. I should of posted in this forum once I had that encounter. Lesson learned.

EDIT: I found the PM's and forwarded to the respective users.

nsx
Jul 12th, 2009, 02:21 PM
Thanks for the heads up.

Pls note that "sabertooth / billccwu" has been banned for credit card fraud / scam.

Eli
Jul 12th, 2009, 06:22 PM
For the record, I still have all of my PMs with this guy. It's my own fault really, I should know better than to trust pretty much anyone. *shrug* Can't help but wonder if he got anyone else.

NorthVanMike
Nov 8th, 2009, 08:18 PM
hello everyone, i found this thread through some research. i've sent Eli a PM regarding the details, but i had a run in with this Mr. Wu today via a Craigslist ad, where he was selling an AMD cpu(Phenom). so, he's still out there, still using oh_my_godd@hotmail and anon132134@hotmail.com. through Mr Wu's stupidity, i managed to escape no lighter in the wallet, but it was close! -Mike

mcg
Nov 8th, 2009, 08:48 PM
Thanks for giving us a heads up... good to see contributions from everyone!

NorthVanMike
Nov 8th, 2009, 09:23 PM
glad to do it. what made me really angry is that he included my wife(she answered the phone so he knew i had one?) in his email rant. i also see he's reposted his ad on CL, http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/van/sys/1455919184.html .