PDA

View Full Version : Zwee.com: 40GB PS3 for $197 (US, I'm assuming)


Fox
Jul 1st, 2009, 05:46 PM
http://www.zwee.com/game-consoles/cheap-ps3/

They're advertising a 40GB PS3 for $197. I can't find a lot of reviews on the site, but I can't find any complaints either. Apparently it's ebid with a new name. Anybody know anything about them?

The deal includes free shipping.

sassysue
Jul 1st, 2009, 05:52 PM
gonna order..

http://www.zwee.com/shipping/

\All our prices include free worldwide shipping. *

*We ship to the US, Canada, UK & Ireland, Australia and Europe. Please note that due to recent fraud we do NOT ship to Africa, Belarus, Bulgaria, China, Estonia, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic), Malaysia, North Korea, Pakistan, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, South Korea, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam, Yugoslavia.

nite4evr
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:07 PM
not much info about the site, not sure if i can trust it.

sassysue
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:08 PM
not much info about the site, not sure if i can trust it.

Whois info

Domain ZWEE.COM [ Traceroute RBL/DNSBL lookup ]
Registrar FABULOUS.COM PTY LTD.
Registrar URL http://www.fabulous.com
Whois server whois.fabulous.com
Created 05-May-1998
Updated 17-Jun-2009
Expires 04-May-2010
Time Left 306 days 1 hours 45 minutes
Status clientDeleteProhibited clientTransferProhibited
DNS servers DNS1.STABLETRANSIT.COM 69.20.72.211
DNS2.STABLETRANSIT.COM 65.61.166.102

seems very legit if they were not u would see bad things about them

nite4evr
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:11 PM
just found this.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090611003742AAfB5mi

still pass, nothing gd

sassysue
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:16 PM
Nikon D90 DSLR
Our Price: $455

lol wtf? is this even legit should i order something small and see if they will even send it?


anyways u can use credit card if something goes wrong do a charge back and get 100% money back happened to me before.

CFRTim
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:20 PM
You're better off giving the money to charity organizations, at least you can write it off at the end of the fiscal year

dealsoutlook
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:25 PM
it says free shipping to canada as well..not a bad deal..but I would stay away..since US$200 for 40gb is not particulary hot

ishagi
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:27 PM
The Zwee team ... looks photoshopped. :)

http://www.zwee.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/zwee-team.jpg

CFRTim
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:28 PM
it says free shipping to canada as well..not a bad deal..but I would stay away..since US$200 for 40gb is not particulary hot

+1 These have to be old refurb. models, with no Sony warranty, and there is a good chance you'll pay tax and duty on them. You're better off buying from BST or kijiji

Blackmajik
Jul 1st, 2009, 06:46 PM
http://www.zwee.com/digital-cameras/cheap-nikon-d300-body/

D300 for $300?!? Refurbished, throw all the Canadian tax, levy, custom fees and whatever you want, put on a ridiculous exchange rate and even if the camera comes split in half when it reaches my door, that is still a incredible deal. Something smells really fish here.

randomdef
Jul 1st, 2009, 07:03 PM
prices are really low, too low. buyer beware.

kelvin
Jul 1st, 2009, 07:06 PM
D300 for $300? impossible. um...67 reviews...
i rather buy $300 649.

hugewallet
Jul 1st, 2009, 07:07 PM
too good to be true

Shinjieva01
Jul 1st, 2009, 07:08 PM
no one's stopping you...just dont expect sympathy from any of us when you decide to make a post a month later about how you got scammed from these guys :cheesygri

ECBomb
Jul 1st, 2009, 07:14 PM
The Zwee team ... looks photoshopped. :)

http://www.zwee.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/zwee-team.jpg

LOL! charlene and sophie look really photoshopped. looks literally pasted on. only bill and suzy look like they were actually in the photo from the lighting on their faces...but anyways this seems really fishy guys...

WildParadise
Jul 1st, 2009, 08:00 PM
It's 100% legit, altought you will never get a product.

Look carefully, nice page, and products, nice price, reviews and all and what do you see, ebay comparison and link to buy elsewhere.

It's a front for referal buy, as simple as that. They bring you on there website for let's say that d300, you want to buy, it don't get thru, you check the referal link which are at a similar price, you press on it, you buy that one and they do money.

Very simple, nice idea.

nuberific
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:03 PM
It's 100% legit, altought you will never get a product.

Look carefully, nice page, and products, nice price, reviews and all and what do you see, ebay comparison and link to buy elsewhere.

It's a front for referal buy, as simple as that. They bring you on there website for let's say that d300, you want to buy, it don't get thru, you check the referal link which are at a similar price, you press on it, you buy that one and they do money.

Very simple, nice idea.

..What?

kelvin
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:09 PM
It's 100% legit, altought you will never get a product.

Look carefully, nice page, and products, nice price, reviews and all and what do you see, ebay comparison and link to buy elsewhere.

It's a front for referal buy, as simple as that. They bring you on there website for let's say that d300, you want to buy, it don't get thru, you check the referal link which are at a similar price, you press on it, you buy that one and they do money.

Very simple, nice idea.

wtf?

omnitron
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:14 PM
wtf?

I think what he means is that they are not trying to sell you anything, they just attract you with incredible low prices... and you end up buying products in other pages but going throught his page what gives them some money.... in other words if you try to buy something, it wont let you do it, so perhaps you go to one of the pages they advertise and buy there....

Blackmajik
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:16 PM
..What?

I think that poster hit the beer fridge a little too hard today - literally.

Totoriko
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:24 PM
If it's too good to be true, it probably is!

The site looks like a blog. I'd steer clear from these chaps.

Signs that it's a fraud:
Prices are 'too' cheap across the board
Contact us page doesn't give any physical address.
Fake photo of the 'staff'
Website is not a standard shopping website
The video reviews aren't from Zwee but from TigerTV
They have more reviews than actual specs of the products

ishagi
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:38 PM
LOL! charlene and sophie look really photoshopped. looks literally pasted on. only bill and suzy look like they were actually in the photo from the lighting on their faces...but anyways this seems really fishy guys...

I'd trust these three more that the Zwee team. :)

http://dailybail.com/storage/three_stooges.jpg

KsprayDad
Jul 1st, 2009, 09:42 PM
Whois info

Domain ZWEE.COM [ Traceroute RBL/DNSBL lookup ]
Registrar FABULOUS.COM PTY LTD.
Registrar URL http://www.fabulous.com
Whois server whois.fabulous.com
Created 05-May-1998
Updated 17-Jun-2009
Expires 04-May-2010
Time Left 306 days 1 hours 45 minutes
Status clientDeleteProhibited clientTransferProhibited
DNS servers DNS1.STABLETRANSIT.COM 69.20.72.211
DNS2.STABLETRANSIT.COM 65.61.166.102

seems very legit if they were not u would see bad things about them

Here is the proper whois:

Domain zwee.com:
Zwee LTD
127 Santa Cruz Ave
San Diego, CA 92107 US

Administrative contact:
Technical contact:
Billing contact:
Zwee LTD
Sarah Brannigan
sales@zwee.com
127 Santa Cruz Ave
San Diego, CA 92107 US
Phone: +619.541926

1. So why is the phone number the wrong number of digits for the US?
2. According to Google Maps street view..there is NO 127 Santa Cruz Ave...it is also a residential street not commercial: LINKY TO MAPS (http://maps.google.ca/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=127+Santa+Cruz+Ave,+San+Diego,+San+Diego,+Califo rnia+92107,+United+States&sll=32.73875,-117.246285&sspn=0.014114,0.01929&ie=UTF8&ll=32.738772,-117.246308&spn=0.014114,0.01929&z=16&iwloc=A&layer=c&cbll=32.73564,-117.241224&panoid=AuildN-wFPyr2X40YRaIrQ&cbp=12,178.77,,0,5)
3. A search of the Yellow Pages for San Diego reveals no listing for Zwee Ltd (http://yellowpages.superpages.com/listings.jsp?CS=L&MCBP=true&search=Find+It&SRC=&C=zwee&STYPE=S&L=san+diego&x=0&y=0)
4. Why have the whois records been altered 20+ times in 2009 alone? (http://domain-history.domaintools.com/?q=zwee.com&page=results#nsmessages)

SKIP IT.

spong
Jul 1st, 2009, 10:00 PM
Do you suppose to be able to get your fund charged back if you never recevied your order?

Wasgo
Jul 1st, 2009, 10:09 PM
Here's the obvious one that proves it's not true. They claim to be selling the unlocked iPhone 3G for $249. It's a scam site, plain and simple.

WildParadise
Jul 1st, 2009, 10:14 PM
it's simple look at it http://www.zwee.com/game-consoles/cheap-ps3/

they say: Compare to Our Competitors:

and these competitors are cheaper so you click on it and then, if you buy it on ebay they get a percentage on the sale.

https://publisher.ebaypartnernetwork.com/files/hub/en-US/howitWorks.html
same for amazon
https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/gp/associates/join/landing/main.html

and others.. so they don't sell anything they refer you to selling product and make a commission if you click and buy.

FullMetall
Jul 1st, 2009, 10:48 PM
As bizarre as WildParadise's theory sounds, I believe he is correct. I searched and found various complaints about people being unable to purchase the items. They would receive and email stating that the stock is out, or something along those lines. What he said really makes sense, considering the auctions and ads on the site. Why else would they be there?