View Full Version : Netbook 10" for U$165
matkokubko
Dec 23rd, 2008, 03:41 PM
I have received an email from a chinesse company saying that they sell a netbook 10" for U$165.
Does anybody has an experience with offers like this.
Is it a scam or will I get a functionality quality built netbook?
10" LCD 1024x600
1.6GHz VIA C-7M, 400MHz FSB
80GB HDD 2.5" SATA
512MB RAM
integrated video unichrome pro II
802.11b/g
ethernet 10/100Mbps
card reader
Linux with other SW or extra charge for Windows XP
3-cell battery
weight: 1.3kg
Email contains 'china factory address' as well as Hong Kong office
oc613
Dec 23rd, 2008, 03:43 PM
Wrong forum.
nounou23
Dec 23rd, 2008, 03:53 PM
Can you copy/paste the email? Is there a link to the product?
tiger7
Dec 23rd, 2008, 05:53 PM
If it's true, I want in too!
But it's hard to believe it's true. Even if it's a Chinese knock-off, it's still too cheap!
randomdef
Dec 23rd, 2008, 09:07 PM
I have received an email from a chinesse company saying that they sell a netbook 10" for U$165.
Does anybody has an experience with offers like this.
Is it a scam or will I get a functionality quality built netbook?
10" LCD 1024x600
1.6GHz VIA C-7M, 400MHz FSB
80GB HDD 2.5" SATA
512MB RAM
integrated video unichrome pro II
802.11b/g
ethernet 10/100Mbps
card reader
Linux with other SW or extra charge for Windows XP
3-cell battery
weight: 1.3kg
Email contains 'china factory address' as well as Hong Kong office
did you email them asking for information? no? then it's a scam. on the interwebs we call that spam.
matkokubko
Dec 23rd, 2008, 10:29 PM
I have not emailed them back as I wanted to get some idea from the forum first.
Below is the email. I cleared all info on them so nobody can accuse that I'm promoting them. I'm 100% unrelated.
I think, I received the email because, I'm registered on alibaba.com
I'm afraid, it's a scam. Too good to be true. If it's true, Canada Computers/Factory direct/..... would start selling it
http://www.halooo.com/foto/1.jpg
http://www.halooo.com/foto/2.jpg
http://www.halooo.com/foto/3.jpg
Crystal Ice
Dec 23rd, 2008, 10:39 PM
:|:|.......lots of grammatical errors....which usually mean scam
Triad
Dec 24th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Just don't pay by Western Union or anything other than credit card or paypal. Usually scams include WU payments.
matkokubko
Dec 24th, 2008, 11:46 AM
I was just looking at the payment method they take....
only
1/ transfer wire to their china bank account
2/ western union
Triad
Dec 24th, 2008, 12:11 PM
Look no further... Can you see SCAM plastered all over? ;)
I was just looking at the payment method they take....
only
1/ transfer wire to their china bank account
2/ western union
blainehamilton
Dec 24th, 2008, 12:20 PM
LOL. Why don't you wire transfer them the money and let us know how it works out...
:|
rb
Dec 24th, 2008, 04:03 PM
If its too good to be true .....
Triad
Dec 25th, 2008, 01:38 PM
Don't follow his advice! You'll be sorry in the end...
LOL. Why don't you wire transfer them the money and let us know how it works out...
:|
Jon Lai
Dec 25th, 2008, 02:58 PM
:|:|.......lots of grammatical errors....which usually mean scam
I don't usually discredit ads with grammatical errors, especially from wholesalers because they are mostly from China. However, the payment methods are a dead givaway. If they accepted credit card or Paypal I might have given a 2nd thought to it - right now, it's a 100% scam.
deep
Dec 25th, 2008, 03:02 PM
Too bad, I was looking for a nice web bool.
hehehaha
Dec 25th, 2008, 03:06 PM
scam.....in the retail stores, the netbooks are more expensive in china than canada.....
randomdef
Dec 27th, 2008, 05:18 PM
as a side note, most things you order from China tend to only us WU or a wire transfer. Also, this is not an atom based book, so i can see it being cheaper but...again, if it was unsolicited then don't do it.
felixmo
Dec 27th, 2008, 08:32 PM
this email has scam written all over it
Triad
Dec 27th, 2008, 09:45 PM
It has something to do with paypal not being allowed to accept payments or something in China.
as a side note, most things you order from China tend to only us WU or a wire transfer. Also, this is not an atom based book, so i can see it being cheaper but...again, if it was unsolicited then don't do it.
pupazzo
Dec 27th, 2008, 10:00 PM
I ordered one and got it. Great value for the price.
Buggie
Dec 28th, 2008, 08:38 PM
Looks familiar:
http://www.elonex.co.uk
Triad
Dec 28th, 2008, 08:53 PM
Can you talk about it more? Such as payment method, where'd you order it from and other valuable information?
I ordered one and got it. Great value for the price.
Jalal
Dec 28th, 2008, 09:43 PM
Scam.
BobyYoo
Dec 28th, 2008, 10:21 PM
I ordered one and got it. Great value for the price.
just by reading your post, you're a scam as well
royaltee66
Dec 28th, 2008, 10:25 PM
can you please lock this thread - who wants to read scam ten times in a row. the community says "SCAM". Please lock this up so we don't think its a real deal
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.