View Full Version : Question about site
vint
Dec 8th, 2008, 08:44 PM
Hi guys, has anyone heard about this site? I keep on getting calls from these guys and they promise to sell my car. I don't really know if I should trust them. I can't seem to find much information on the net. Perhaps this is a scam or a new site which was created recently?
http://www.autosellernetwork.com/
If you know anything about the site please let me know.
vint
Dec 9th, 2008, 10:52 AM
Hmm so noone has heard about them? One more weird thing is that when they call the number is private which does bother me.
Pete_Coach
Dec 9th, 2008, 11:47 AM
Firstly, why would they be calling you?
Secondly, will they do this for free?
vint
Dec 9th, 2008, 12:34 PM
They call me because I made a posting on trader.ca
This is far from free. It is $400 but they say if the vehicle is not sold they will return the money.
I don't really trust them.
10101010
Dec 9th, 2008, 01:05 PM
They call me because I made a posting on trader.ca
This is far from free. It is $400 but they say if the vehicle is not sold they will return the money.
I don't really trust them.
In that case, simply don't trust them, esp since there's a fee.
James604
Dec 22nd, 2008, 03:28 PM
I have my truck listed with them right now, hasn't sold yet but getting more calls than I did in the trader, they advertise in the Sun and Province (local papers) here in BC.... Anyone else on RFD using them right now or used in the past?
Was going to try my Grizzly with them in the New Years, any feedback is appreciated.
BartBandy
Dec 22nd, 2008, 04:57 PM
These are well-known scams. List in Trader or elsewhere, and people will call you, offering to connect you to a buyer or advertise elsewhere for a fee. They may even offer a guarantee.
Don't buy it. If someone is looking for a car like you're selling, and you're already advertising it in the Trader or somewhere similar, they can find it on their own. No middleman required.
James604
Dec 22nd, 2008, 08:44 PM
I hear ya Bart, the fellow who called me whom I've spoke to 4x since November didn't say he was connecting to me to a buyer or anything like that though. I know that whole song and dance about the broker/middleman. I bought the advertising he was pushing though, which I was considering trying on my own. I got an ad in the Province and the Sun (which I verified) which would have cost me $300 and a 7 day eBay auction scheduled to commence Jan. 5 which he claimed was a $120 value.
If it doesn't sell rest assure I will get my money back one way or another, I purchased a 90 days listing and still have a month and a half to go.
You got me all worked up 2 days before Xmas!!!
Anyways, I'll keep you posted on how it goes.
Merry Xmas!
carterc
Dec 25th, 2008, 12:15 AM
They just called us about a week ago to sell our car that is also on auto trader, very pushy to get us aboard, but after my wife did research we felt it better to not sign up, if you read about the no selling car insurance, it says they DO NOT have to give you your money back even if car doesnt sell and you fill out required paperwork... they only have one phone number and u must leave message only.. noone answers phone, the lady who called us told us it was her direct line we told her we called and noone answered, she then didnt know how to reply...very persistant and i believe if it was my loss they wouldnt care that much to beg..so if you give them your money you have no way of contacting them except leaving message in hopes they call back.. i hope i have helped out.. thanks
BartBandy
Dec 26th, 2008, 01:18 PM
carterc, I agree completely.
Use your heads, people. If a buyer can't find your car in Trader.ca, Craigslist and Kijiji, they aren't going to find it with the help of these jokers. $200 is ridiculous, and odds are you will not see that money again, regardless of guarantees.
big tuna
Jan 14th, 2009, 06:30 PM
bump for anyone who's got a used car for sale. i've had my car posted for a week on craigslist and a few days on kijiji and other sites and i just got cold called from these guys. VERY pushy and every sentence was ended with "my friend". anyone claiming 'risk free' is full of it and is already counting their commission dollars rather than listening to what you have to say
after speaking with them again, it's pretty clear they're a scam. they've been reported on ripoffreport.com this month and their online inventory is next to nothing (salesman claimed that was due to high turnover). also, the domain's only been registered since october 2008 (http://whois.domaintools.com/autosellernetwork.com) but they claim to have been in business for 3 years. when i brought that up, i was told the old site was overhauled and used to be asn.com - fyi, asn.com has no relation to this company. salesman ended the call after that. looking at the terms for the refund, it looks like you have to jump through hoops after the 90 days is up... VERY similar to cross-sells on membership sites where it's next to impossible to cancel your memberships
i hope i'm wrong for the sake of the few that have listed their cars with them but everything i've pulled up on them reaks of u-know-what
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.