PDA

View Full Version : Those Nigerian Scammers are going after books now???


Sprite_TM
Oct 10th, 2008, 10:22 AM
I have already received several Nigerian scams regarding my textbooks on TUSBE.com. It seems like they want to buy "books" now. Haha, what next?

Sample email:

Hello,
I will like to make an enquiry if your advert placed above is still available for sale .If yes, kindly let

me know the last price you want to give it out and present condition, a pics will be fine.Let me know your

prefered method of payment and who do the shipping to(UK) but I can always handle that as i have a reputable

and capable shipper i use regularly.

Thanks while waiting to hear from you.

Please make sure you get back to me on my email:
twltd@hotmail.com

Williams.

Eyies
Oct 10th, 2008, 10:43 AM
I got those last year when I posted on TUSBE.

I almost went through with it .. for like 5 minutes, then just promptly added him to blocked email list.

MizTEcK
Oct 10th, 2008, 10:46 AM
how do they even know tusbe wow, the market's really squeezing them out eh

ShadowVlican
Oct 10th, 2008, 12:31 PM
i got the exact same email.... three of them in fact... i just junked them :)

flexwong
Oct 10th, 2008, 12:44 PM
I have already received several Nigerian scams regarding my textbooks on TUSBE.com. It seems like they want to buy "books" now. Haha, what next?

Sample email:

Hello,
I will like to make an enquiry if your advert placed above is still available for sale .If yes, kindly let

me know the last price you want to give it out and present condition, a pics will be fine.Let me know your

prefered method of payment and who do the shipping to(UK) but I can always handle that as i have a reputable

and capable shipper i use regularly.

Thanks while waiting to hear from you.

Please make sure you get back to me on my email:
twltd@hotmail.com

Williams.

yup. i got a few of those from tusbe. my poor friend actually fell for it and replied by giving his address. the dude sent him a letter with a money order slip in it or something and after much convincing, me and a few other friends were able to convince him to just trash the deal.

AcidBomber
Oct 10th, 2008, 01:59 PM
lol what would they do with books... is not like they're actually going to start learning random subjects. :confused:

corrupt123
Oct 10th, 2008, 05:09 PM
lol what would they do with books... is not like they're actually going to start learning random subjects. :confused:

Hahahaha I didn't even think of that. Unless it's the old "sent too much, send me some back" Bowshitt.

StefanS
Oct 11th, 2008, 02:07 PM
Hahahaha I didn't even think of that. Unless it's the old "sent too much, send me some back" Bowshitt.

It's exactly that. They'll send you a money order for an amount that's way more than your book/whatever was being sold at. They'll claim it was a mistake and ask you to cash it and send back the difference and keep a little as a thank you. It's a fake money order though, and originally it'll appear to go through but then a little while later the bank will catch it and charge your account. By then presumably, you've sent them their "share" and you're screwed.

jp06
Oct 12th, 2008, 10:32 AM
It's exactly that. They'll send you a money order for an amount that's way more than your book/whatever was being sold at. They'll claim it was a mistake and ask you to cash it and send back the difference and keep a little as a thank you. It's a fake money order though, and originally it'll appear to go through but then a little while later the bank will catch it and charge your account. By then presumably, you've sent them their "share" and you're screwed.

this scam is also more believable (to some people) because of the lesser cost of books compared to being scammed for a car on craigslist/Kijiji. And when this fails, they'll just evolve again and come up with a new cheaper cost-efficient scam.

bmnb4tches
Oct 12th, 2008, 03:27 PM
yup. i got a few of those from tusbe. my poor friend actually fell for it and replied by giving his address. the dude sent him a letter with a money order slip in it or something and after much convincing, me and a few other friends were able to convince him to just trash the deal.

Are you serious. This is University books right?

Rishi
Oct 12th, 2008, 07:40 PM
Get his address, then go to a charity shop and get a grammar book for $1. Mail that to him instead. :cheesygri

diav
Nov 26th, 2008, 01:03 AM
I don't mean to revive a month-old inactive thread, but I got five of these today. o_O

LegiT
Nov 26th, 2008, 07:40 AM
Reply to them with "interesting" pictures from teh internetz. Ask them if they enjoy lemon parties and goatsecs

Femalepicasso
Mar 20th, 2009, 03:43 PM
yep same ppl contacted me.
I was actually contacted by the same ppl with the same email twtd01@hotmail.com, but on yahoo...and with a different contact name.
you get the email (with really poor english in most cases)
they ask you to provide your full name, address and phone number so they can reach you and send you their cheques. They tell you that they have a private shipper who will meet you to pick up the book/item after you have cashed in their "payment" along with forwarding the remaining balance to the shipper - they will claim this is to pay off the shipper. They'll ask you to provide a confirmation number etc, but in reality they don't need that to retrieve the money..it's gone once you sent it...they just want to know if the scam worked. In my case, bc i didn't respond quickly enough, they kept emailing me every 6 hrs to find out where the money was, and guilt tripping me. Then, over the next few days, i was getting calls from all these weird 1888, 1800, 123, 1111 numbers on the number i gave them to contact me. I didn't pick up so they stopped calling within a week.
bottom line: DO NOT GIVE OUT ANYYYYY INFO. IF YOU DO HAPPEN TO GIVE OUT YOUR PHONE INFO, DO NOT PICK UP. phone recordings can be used as evidence if they get caught, so they never leave msgs. Mess around with THEM and waste THEIR time :cheesygri:twisted:

Hard_Taco
Mar 20th, 2009, 04:14 PM
I suggest giving those scammers fake cheques, address and issues of Auto Mart just to piss them off.

kingsley
Mar 20th, 2009, 05:56 PM
I think they need a mandatory course in high school on how not to be scammed.

discostupid
Mar 20th, 2009, 07:11 PM
http://www.419eater.com/html/booked.htm

this particular one develops well, read it all the way through
[edit: in case you get bored, on page 2 are links to fully dictated version of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by this particular scammer]

Majinvegeta
Mar 21st, 2009, 01:19 AM
lol what would they do with books... is not like they're actually going to start learning random subjects. :confused:

I bet they ran out of ideas and so using books they are trying to learn new ideas to steal your monies :lol::lol::lol:

royalflight
Aug 29th, 2009, 09:11 PM
I know this is an old thread, but hopefully this bumps it up so people who are selling books on Tusbe can read it!

I just got an email today with this:
Hello,
I will like to make an enquiry if your advert placed above is still available for sale .If yes, kindly let me know the last price you want to give it out and present condition, a pics will be fine.Let me know your prefered method of payment and who do the shipping to(UK) but I can always handle that as i have a reputable and capable shipper i use regularly.

Thanks while waiting to hear from you.

Please make sure you get back to me on my email:
m_adam@live.com

Adam.

dragon_drift
Aug 29th, 2009, 09:27 PM
I know this is an old thread, but hopefully this bumps it up so people who are selling books on Tusbe can read it!

I just got an email today with this:

I got the exact same email. It went straight to the trash.

I've checked the intranet, and read some international student at UTSC got scammed $700 from this Nigerian scammer.

Paranoidandroid
Aug 29th, 2009, 11:40 PM
I received 10 emails from twltd0 over the last year

crackheadpakman
Aug 29th, 2009, 11:55 PM
mine was from m_adam@live.com
its funny the message is EXACTLY the same

Hello,I will like to make an enquiry if your advert placed above is still available for sale .If yes, kindly let me know the last price you want to give it out and present condition, a pics will be fine.Let me know your prefered method of payment and who do the shipping to(UK) but I can always handle that as i have a reputable and capable shipper i use regularly. Thanks while waiting to hear from you. Please make sure you get back to me on my email:m_adam@live.com Adam.

dragon_drift
Aug 30th, 2009, 12:23 AM
I received 10 emails from twltd0 over the last year

I got 8 from him several weeks ago. This is the exact same guy that scammed the international student lol

talyban
Aug 30th, 2009, 12:53 AM
you guys have spread your email addresses on way too many sites to be getting these emails.