View Full Version : EWC Welcome to Electronicswc Limited scam???
Aznkid2000
Sep 25th, 2008, 04:58 PM
Ok so wondering if this site is legit.
http://ewc.web.officelive.com/default.aspx
The person wants to be payed by western union and doesn't accept any other kind of payment which sounds like a scam here.
What do you guys think about this
bmir
Nov 19th, 2008, 07:13 AM
hey,
i'm just curious if you ever went ahead with these guys or not? i came across their website as well, actually i came across the user in the marketplace on facebook. i am seriously doubting them now, after reading your posting AND after googling for them and ending up on some Brazilian site calling these guys a complete fraud (i don't speak portugese but once again thanks to google i translated the posting).
unless you can tell me otherwise, i won't go ahead with them. i was REALLY close to though...so i'd really appreciate a reply from you whenever you get the chance.
thanks!
snowles
Nov 19th, 2008, 03:39 PM
The spelling, grammar and punctuation on that site are atrocious. No self-respecting business who uses English as a first language would allow their website to read that poorly.
I mean, what site would put a picture like this for available TVs.
http://ewc.web.officelive.com/images/Home%20Theatre%2004.jpg Every photo is either a generic or pasted from another website. This has scam written all over it.
That address they give also does not exist in Fort Lauderdale, according to Google Earth.
serathe
Nov 19th, 2008, 03:42 PM
I'd say scam. I wouldn't do it. That form of payment is abused quite often.
And no phone # on the website?
illyas
Nov 19th, 2008, 03:55 PM
Do you really have to ask?
"Electronicswc Limited was the US’s first retail mobile phone website (launched in 1995) and is now one of the largest web-only mobile phone store in the US, processing thousands of orders every month." :lol:
They just ripped a website and copied everything.
http://www.mobiles.co.uk/about.html
Rx-87
Nov 19th, 2008, 03:59 PM
If it smells like a scam, seems like a scam..
then its probably a scam.. and even if it wasn't.
There are always better deals out there.
Unless its for $0 dollars :lol:
snowles
Nov 19th, 2008, 07:46 PM
Maybe mobile.co.uk is the fake one :D
duh-duh-duhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!
Wasgo
Nov 19th, 2008, 11:52 PM
Let's go over this free and handy checklist:
1.) Is it hosted on free hosting? (Yes/No)
2.) Are the images randomly taken from other websites? (Yes/No)
3.) Is the text copied from another site? (Yes/No)
4.) Do they list no prices for anything? (Yes/No)
5.) Are there numerous spelling errors? (Yes/No)
6.) Is the address fake? (Yes/No)
7.) Do they only accept Western Union? (Yes/No)
8.) Are the prices too good to be true? (Yes/No)
If the answer is yes to any of these questions is yes, it's almost certainly a scam. The answer is yes to all 8 for this site.
bmir
Nov 20th, 2008, 04:18 AM
hey thanks for everyone's feedback. i really appreciate it. i'm not one to fall for scams like this so easily and all the signs were pointing to a scam (but at the same time i guess i didn't want to be believe it unless someone else told me so? does that even make sense?). anyways i need to report this person on facebook since i don't know how many others he/she/it plans to scam on there...idiot goes by the name of christine moore.
thanks again guys really appreciate it!
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.