View Full Version : Question about DHL
DrifterX
Sep 25th, 2008, 08:27 AM
Hello,
I came across an ad for a phone I've been wanting to purchase on kijiji. Now I've been in contact with the seller in the past week, asking him how the payment/shipment will work. He claims that he will ship the phone by DHL from Italy and send me the tracking number for which I can verify that it has been sent. I will then have to deposit the money to a DHL agent who will hold the money until I receive the package, I have a chance to inspect the package. If I am satisfied DHL will then transfer the deposit to the seller. Now I have a feeling that this is a scam, mostly because the price is too good to be true and he has completely ignored my request to meet locally a few times then out of nowhere he says it will be shipped from Italy, but I'd like to know if DHL actually gives this type of service. I read online that its possible to charge the receiver but theres not much detail on their website on how it works.
Thanks
parry
Sep 25th, 2008, 08:39 AM
I would stay away from it.
DraGooN-
Sep 25th, 2008, 08:53 AM
I would stay away from it.
+1
Most courier companies will allow you to inspect the package. However its the contents that your concerned about!
tsatsa
Sep 25th, 2008, 10:54 AM
I would stay away from it.
+2
selpats
Sep 25th, 2008, 02:03 PM
Trust your instincts and walk away...
GVRtrader
Sep 25th, 2008, 04:09 PM
First i ever heard of such a service... i would stay away too.
If nothing else, talk with DHL rep and see if they even offer this type of service. I thought all they did was delivery and offer different delivery time. I didn't know they actually took payment for the seller.:|
DrifterX
Sep 25th, 2008, 09:55 PM
Well, I'm not going for it, this guy just kept asking me for my full information in each email he sent me. Plus he completely ignored any questions I asked him to meet in person. After the last email he sent me, it seems as though he was using automated emails or somethin... He used an email under the name David Kim (topkta@yahoo.com). Anyways thanks for the replies :D
CorSter
Sep 25th, 2008, 10:20 PM
DHL does offer payment of delivery.... however this sounds like a fake escrow service he wants you to use....
woof
Sep 25th, 2008, 11:53 PM
I say go for it! After you get ripped off you'll have the necessary experience to be able to give advice to other people like yourself posting these kinds of questions about these kinds of situations.
DrifterX
Sep 26th, 2008, 09:36 AM
I say go for it! After you get ripped off you'll have the necessary experience to be able to give advice to other people like yourself posting these kinds of questions about these kinds of situations.
You trying to be a smartass? The reason I posted here was to find out if anyone had experience with this type of shipping with DHL... keep comments like that to yourself
woof
Sep 26th, 2008, 09:47 PM
You're posting here when you should have been using Google. Try "escrow fraud".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bogus_escrow
Well known companies like UPS, FedX, and Western Union often have their names misused to give credibility to the fraud. And just for the record DHL clearly states (3rd paragraph) that they do not provide the type of escrow service which your seller is trying to con you in to:
http://www.dhl.com/publish/g0/en/information/customer/fraud.low.html?isJSDisable=true
That would have turned up in your Google search.
But hey, your right, I don't have any personal experience with which which to answer your question and so far no one else has posted so that certainly must mean that what you obviously want to do is safe. Again, based on that I encourage you to rush your money out the door to this seller.
I apologize for wasting your time and offending you with my strong answers. I felt that a strong answer was necessary to prevent you from doing something incredibly stupid. My mistake.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.