PDA

View Full Version : Expedia.ca Phishing E-mail?


dragan69
May 5th, 2008, 06:07 PM
I just recieved an e-mail apology from Expedia.ca stating that their records indicate that I may have recently experienced a longer then acceptable wait time when calling their customer support center. They have included a link to a $50 CAD voucher valid until Mar 2009.

Tha last time I used Expedia was to book a trip in November to Vegas, and I don't recall having any issues.

The email does have a link that I need to click to accept the the voucher with the URL being : http://click.expediamail.com/...

This then links to what appears to be www.expedia.ca and asks me to login to my account. I'm a little reluctant to login as I am not sure if this is some kind of phish. I don't have any credit card info stored with expedia, but there is some basic info there such as name and address.

Is this the typical way that Expedia would issue vouchers to their customers? I guess I'm being extra careful, because I never lodged a complaint with them, so I was not expecting anything like this.

user01
May 5th, 2008, 06:47 PM
it's phishing. careful!

mmmken
May 5th, 2008, 07:01 PM
The address http://click.expediamail.com/ is legit. Shows the same registrant information as http://expedia.com/ and is on the same server(s).

brunes
May 5th, 2008, 08:24 PM
If you think it is fake, just email or call Expedia customer service to confirm.

TCWeasel
May 6th, 2008, 08:33 AM
If you think it is fake, just email or call Expedia customer service to confirm.

Yep. Always confirm if you are unsure.

The registrar information can offer a pretty good clue, but it doesn't cost you anything to just call or e-mail them to make sure.

zerohour
May 6th, 2008, 08:45 AM
From Expedia's own website:
http://www.expedia.com/daily/highlights/phishing/default.asp

Likely it is the second one issue noted under Fake links:

links that match the URL of the site in question but have different URLs embedded within them (e.g., click on http://www.expedia.com and you’ll see that it takes you somewhere else entirely)

dragan69
May 6th, 2008, 11:16 AM
Thanks for the input. I've sent an e-mail to Expedia asking them to confirm if the e-mail I recieved is legit.

holymoly
May 7th, 2008, 04:16 PM
Let us know what they say. I got the same email and don't recall having any problems with expedia.ca.