View Full Version : therentalguide.ca - Legit?
Culverin
Jan 10th, 2008, 03:56 PM
Hey guys, i'm looking for a place to rent out (greater vancouver)
i have been going through craigslist for the last month or so.
Usually, people there are pretty good and flag the scams for the rest of us.
But i've never seen anything about rentalguide.ca being a scam.
Has anybody ever used them?
I just called them up, and i'm a bit hesitant, cause it's $100 up front for them to use their listings.
The have posted up some fairly good deals on craigslist, kinda like advertisting i guess. But before i'm scammed out $100, i'm hoping u guys can confirm/deny whether they are legit, and worth my $100.
thanks all
teknoluv
Jan 10th, 2008, 04:01 PM
rentalguide.ca? Are you spamming here? It's not even a website: its nameservers are pointing to Hitfarm!
Culverin
Jan 10th, 2008, 07:01 PM
no no no, i'm not spamming.
http://www.therentalguide.ca
i think u forgot the "the"
teknoluv
Jan 11th, 2008, 08:42 AM
no no no, i'm not spamming.
http://www.therentalguide.ca
i think u forgot the "the"
LOL! I think YOU forgot the "the":
But i've never seen anything about rentalguide.ca being a scam.
Has anybody ever used them?
And this also reminds us of how stupid those "the" domains are.
Culverin
Jan 11th, 2008, 12:14 PM
lols, my bad.
sorry.
but yeah. up front $100 seems slightly sketchy.
is there a way to check business history? like with the BBB or something?
Culverin
Jan 12th, 2008, 06:40 PM
bump?
ali123
Jan 12th, 2008, 07:16 PM
Status: EXIST
Registrar: Trillium Internet Company Inc
Registrar-no: 59
Registrant-no: 1796788
Domaine-no: 1796788
Subdomain: therentalguide.ca
Renewal-Date: 2009/02/22
Date-Approved: 2007/02/22
Date-Modified: 2007/11/19
Organization: Scott Klarenbach
Description:
Admin-Name: Scott Klarenbach
Admin-Title:
Admin-Postal: 1379 W 15 Ave
Vancouver BC V6H1S2 Canada
Admin-Phone: 604-731-4280
Admin-Fax:
Admin-Mailbox: scott@pointyhat.ca
Tech-Name: Support Department
Tech-Title:
Tech-Postal: 5160 Yonge St., Suite 1800
Toronto ON M2N 6L9 Canada
Tech-Phone: 416-661-2100
Tech-Fax:
Tech-Mailbox: support@netfirms.com
NS1-Hostname: ns.therentalguide.ca
NS1-Netaddress: 64.46.44.250
NS2-Hostname: ns2.therentalguide.ca
NS2-Netaddress: 64.46.44.251
NS3-Hostname:
NS3-Netaddress:
NS4-Hostname:
NS4-Netaddress:
NS5-Hostname:
NS5-Netaddress:
NS6-Hostname:
NS6-Netaddress:
call the admin....
Culverin
Jan 12th, 2008, 09:15 PM
say what? :confused:
what did you just post?
ali123
Jan 12th, 2008, 09:24 PM
That's the info of the registrant, It looks legit but I don't know... try giving them a call
Culverin
Jan 14th, 2008, 03:00 AM
ok, thanks
i will see what comes of it.
- ron
teknoluv
Jan 14th, 2008, 01:44 PM
That's the info of the registrant, It looks legit but I don't know... try giving them a call
I'm not sure how "legit" that registrant info is, but they actually have full contact info RIGHT ON THEIR WEBSITE. I don't see how one should call the number on the whois instead.
liminals
May 31st, 2009, 11:27 AM
I just tried this site; and, basically you can find all of their posts on craigslist. They were pretty effective before the days of online classifieds... Besides that, they keep advertising the really good properties well after they have been rented. For example, they just posted a 4BR house for $1800 on May 29th; I know for a fact that this house was rented at least 2-3 weeks ago (because I called them a week ago about it).
my advise would be to save your cash and use the online classifieds.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.