View Full Version : [Merged] performanceoptimizer
fotor
Oct 16th, 2007, 03:27 PM
I just had my web browser hijacked by a performanceoptimizer advertisment and while I am not positive (I could have clicked another site tab), I'm pretty sure I was on RFD when it happened. Has anyone else had a problem with this nasty advertiser? If this is one of RFD's advertisers, I'm pretty sure I won't be coming back here until they are gone.
Rick
Lone_Prodigy
Oct 16th, 2007, 03:35 PM
...and I get hit with spam.
"Use Performance Optimizer!"
Ummm... what? Okay, maybe I hit the wrong bookmark. I hit "back"... dialog box pops up asking me to install the thing. I close the dialog box, and finally get into RFD.
When I logged in I had a PM, with notifications turned on. Could that be the culprit? I should also mention the person who PM'ed me is not a spam account.
Proof:
http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/580/spammd9.jpg
As you can see, I opened RFD in a new tab: the forum booted up, then the spam hit me. I didn't open the wrong bookmark.
So what gives?
siriuskao
Oct 16th, 2007, 03:39 PM
yup I got the same thing. Mod please investigate.
demanche
Oct 16th, 2007, 03:43 PM
Same here,
I don't save any temp files on my work computer, but I can verify redflagdeals.com is the only external tab I have open and I got the download popup refreshing http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9
Time was around 3:38pm est
I emailed rfd via the comment page to make sure its brought to their attention but im sure they know about it since this thread is merged
qwertyuiop
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:00 PM
I just got the same thing. Similar to what happened to me months ago.
http://www.redflagdeals.com//forums/showthread.php?t=451969
hugh_da_man
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:05 PM
same here...no other browsers open
Ryan
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:15 PM
Looking into it.
I think I've identified which ad is causing it.
advantage21
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:27 PM
From RFG, I have had been hijacked by Drivercleaner.com, performanceoptimizer and today I got hit by:
http://scanner.malware-scan.com/10_swp/
AVG identified and blocked this site as it was attempting to install a trojan.
Lone_Prodigy
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:31 PM
Glad to know I'm not the only one.
Ryan
Oct 16th, 2007, 04:43 PM
If anyone has a problem after right now (4:45 EST) can they let me know? I think I managed to track it down.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.