PDA

View Full Version : Rogers Copyright Notice


Ma_Jie
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:22 PM
Hi guys. I received an email today from Rogers, on behalf of Paramount Studios and BayTSP (their authorised agent to collect information on downloaders who violate their coppyrights), for the movie An Inconvenient Truth by Al Gore -- so don't download it. Next time, Rogers says they'll disconnect my internet. I guess downloading in Canada isn't as safe as we all thought. :-(

- Jie

yao416
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:29 PM
Bell doesnt do anything.

summerfan
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:29 PM
Hi guys. I received an email today from Rogers, on behalf of Paramount Studios and BayTSP (their authorised agent to collect information on downloaders who violate their coppyrights), for the movie An Inconvenient Truth by Al Gore -- so don't download it. Next time, Rogers says they'll disconnect my internet. I guess downloading in Canada isn't as safe as we all thought. :-(

- Jie

There all bark not bite.

atforum
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:30 PM
Rogers is owned by AT&T which is an american company with not good reviews. They infact turned over phone records to bush without proper approval.

Get bell.

Edit: Corrected the mistake below.

nano
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:58 PM
rogers is owned by ted rogers...

MrDisco
Jun 4th, 2007, 07:59 PM
Rogers is owned by AT&T which is an american company with not good reviews. They infact turned over phone records to bush without proper approval.

are you on crack? Rogers is not owned by AT&T:

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/ownership/cht27.pdf
http://finance.yahoo.com/q/pr?s=rg

man it's so tiresome having to be the only one around here who appreciates facts in a post.

atforum
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:06 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/93/Rogers_AT%26T.png/275px-Rogers_AT%26T.png

seems they are no longer in partnership. My mistake.

aKiu
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:12 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/93/Rogers_AT%26T.png/275px-Rogers_AT%26T.png

seems they are no longer in partnership. My mistake.

is that sarcasm?

atforum
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:15 PM
is that sarcasm?

What makes you feel that?? That is a genuine image I found in wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rogers_Wireless

MrDisco
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:24 PM
seems they are no longer in partnership. My mistake.

sigh. please Wikipedia?
1. They were in partnership. Not ownership. Partnership.
2. Rogers Wireless is fully owned by the parent company, namely Rogers.
3. Funny how that logo doesn't even appear on their website. If you're going to copy Wiki at least copy the right stuff.

Did you not even bother to look at the CRTC pdf?

atforum
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:26 PM
sigh. please Wikipedia?
1. They were in partnership. Not ownership. Partnership.
2. Rogers Wireless is fully owned by the parent company, name Rogers.

Did you not even bother to look at the CRTC pdf?

I dont really get it. What did I say in the second reply. Did I not mention partnership?? Why are people behind me even after I understood my mistake :confused: Is this the new trend here :D

atforum
Jun 4th, 2007, 08:27 PM
sigh. please Wikipedia?
3. Funny how that logo doesn't even appear on their website. If you're going to copy Wiki at least copy the right stuff.


I would assume that it was their old logo. Since they are not in partnership how do you expect them to keep that logo in their website :confused:

EDIT1: I did not read the pdf :)

EDIT 2: Rogers AT&T Wireless logo when Rogers' wireless division was in partnership with AT&T. Read this below the image.

EDIT 3: More links with the logo
http://www.jobshark.ca/CaEng/CorpProfiles2/CompProf.cfm?CPParam=39067X41622X38337X41987X42352 X36877X40162&CUParam=35418X43448X35418X39433X39068X36878X41623X 18263X17533X17533X19723&CFID=13738722&CFTOKEN=391&ProfileParam=1038
http://www.answers.com/topic/rogers-wireless
http://www.dvp.net/
http://www.3g.co.uk/PR/Nov2003/6142.htm

Kuurgen
Jun 4th, 2007, 09:08 PM
Peer Guardian is your friend.

Amourek
Jun 4th, 2007, 09:30 PM
They're just passing on the message. They won't do sh1t about it.

Emancipated
Jun 4th, 2007, 10:59 PM
They're all bark no bite, they won't do sh1t about it? Tell that to the people that have had their service disconnected.

If you want to steal music and movies, at least use the original and only method.

Usenet: stealing stuff from hollywood even before the 56kbaud modem was invented.

Pirates, attack, attack, attack! http://forums.govteen.com/images/smilies/pirate.gif

Paranoidandroid
Jun 4th, 2007, 11:04 PM
They're all bark no bite, they won't do sh1t about it? Tell that to the people that have had their service disconnected.

If you want to steal music and movies, at least use the original and only method.

Usenet: stealing stuff from hollywood even before the 56kbaud modem was invented.

Pirates, attack, attack, attack! http://forums.govteen.com/images/smilies/pirate.gif
I thought Rogers banned newsgroups?

I don't want to see what's in my Inbox.. although I forgot my username and pw.. :lol:

Emancipated
Jun 4th, 2007, 11:15 PM
I thought Rogers banned newsgroups?

I don't want to see what's in my Inbox.. although I forgot my username and pw.. :lol:

They stopped providing free newsgroups but $14.95USD is a bargain for what you get in return.

ERIKAAMORRIS
Jun 5th, 2007, 08:05 AM
private trackers.

thelefteyeguy
Jun 5th, 2007, 08:55 AM
Rogers is owned by AT&T which is an american company with not good reviews. They infact turned over phone records to bush without proper approval.

Get bell.

you should really edit this...you'll get flamed further.

almostfreeman
Jun 5th, 2007, 09:03 AM
Hi guys. I received an email today from Rogers, on behalf of Paramount Studios and BayTSP (their authorised agent to collect information on downloaders who violate their coppyrights), for the movie An Inconvenient Truth by Al Gore -- so don't download it. Next time, Rogers says they'll disconnect my internet. I guess downloading in Canada isn't as safe as we all thought. :-(

- Jie

Oooh, disconnect your internet .... that does seem harsh :lol: . Where will you ever find find another provider?

teknoluv
Jun 5th, 2007, 09:09 AM
I guess downloading in Canada isn't as safe as we all thought. :-(
Since when was illegal downloading allowed in Canada? Don't do anything JUST BECAUSE some other people are also doing it.

Paolo
Jun 5th, 2007, 10:23 AM
actually, rogers is owned by the public, the canadian public

nopn
Jun 5th, 2007, 10:27 AM
private trackers.

do i have to pay for it ?

Mr. Robo
Jun 5th, 2007, 10:45 AM
do i have to pay for it ?

Just sign up. No fees. You'll get better d/l rates.

nopn
Jun 5th, 2007, 11:20 AM
Just sign up. No fees. You'll get better d/l rates.

you have the linky ?

noxe2
Jun 5th, 2007, 12:01 PM
you have the linky ?

demonoid.com seems to be one the better ones out there, you need an invitation code though

etrywesd
Jun 5th, 2007, 12:05 PM
If you want to steal, either use a proxy or go to watchtvsitcoms.com (http://www.watchtvsitcoms.com), then you can watch it streaming. I'm pretty sure that Inconvenient Truth is on there...

weedb0y
Jun 5th, 2007, 12:45 PM
Rogers is owned by AT&T which is an american company with not good reviews. They infact turned over phone records to bush without proper approval.

Get bell.


are you for real?

sixer
Jun 5th, 2007, 12:47 PM
Downloading movies has always been illegal, this is just the beginning, beware illegal downloaders

Ogata
Jun 5th, 2007, 02:04 PM
Since when was illegal downloading allowed in Canada? Don't do anything JUST BECAUSE some other people are also doing it.

Music is legal but I don't know how it is for movies.

Tijuana
Jun 5th, 2007, 04:23 PM
if anything the wireless division is owned by at/t

Digital_Domain
Jun 5th, 2007, 04:57 PM
I think the first one is a warning shot basically, but I've yet to hear of anyone personally getting their connection yanked. I know one person that's gotten 3 of them, and still nothing. I got one before and nothing happened, although I e-mailed them back about the crappy quality of the supposed "DVD-R", I had to, the movie was Jackass so it was the only proper Jackass thing to do, lol.

dre145
Jun 5th, 2007, 05:07 PM
demonoid.com seems to be one the better ones out there, you need an invitation code though

that is probably the easiest private tracker to get on to... not the worst because i use it to find rare stuff, but its not like u'll get great speeds, get ur self on torrentleech and then move up for there

I have never got a letter from rogers, but thats because these agency's just target public torrent sites