PDA

View Full Version : my friend got this, is this email offer a scam?


peppy5
Aug 29th, 2006, 12:33 PM
From: xxxxx xxxxx
To: xxxxxx@uwo.ca
Date: Sat, 05 Aug 2006 19:26:25 +0000
Subject: Job 0ffer
Dear Student,

I would like to offer you a challenging and well-paid employment opportunity. An International Marketing Research Organization recruits self-motivated and reliable individuals, willing to take part in well-paying research studies conducted for leading US and international businesses. Your opinion as a consumer is important for the success and profitability of many business ventures. That is why they are ready to pay generously for what you think.

You can earn from $300 to $550 a week for participating in online surveys, focus group discussions, and product/service evaluations. Become part of our Marketing Research Organization and earn:

from $5 to $100 for participating in on-line surveys
from $30 to $150 for participating in product/service evaluations
from $50 to $250 for participating in virtual focus group discussions


For your work, you will need just a computer with Internet connection and a valid e-mail address. You will decide when to work and which surveys to take while enjoying the comfort of your room. If you like the job, you can keep it as long as you want!

If you want to become one of our survey takers, please write back and I will send you more information.

Sincerely, xxxxxx

Sash[DSL]
Aug 29th, 2006, 12:40 PM
most likely. Most online surveys pay ~$5 if you're lucky, some just give useless free stuff.

input
Aug 29th, 2006, 12:48 PM
I think its legit, Its from the University of Western Ontario looking from the email sender.

SAS-1
Aug 29th, 2006, 12:52 PM
Post the email header if you can.

Sash[DSL]
Aug 29th, 2006, 12:56 PM
I think its legit, Its from the University of Western Ontario looking from the email sender.
it is very easy to fake sender's email address, how do you think people send out paypal's "please log in and change your password" scam emails.

chellemi
Aug 29th, 2006, 01:01 PM
i don't think it's real.. if you look at the e-mail topic/subject, "0ffer" instead of "Offer" to bypass the e-mail spam detectors. i highly doubt that the real UWO would do something like that.

AzNCrAzYcOoLeR
Aug 29th, 2006, 01:03 PM
i don't think it's real.. if you look at the e-mail topic/subject, "0ffer" instead of "Offer" to bypass the e-mail spam detectors. i highly doubt that the real UWO would do something like that.


good eye

rajab04
Aug 30th, 2006, 01:26 AM
i don't think it's real.. if you look at the e-mail topic/subject, "0ffer" instead of "Offer" to bypass the e-mail spam detectors. i highly doubt that the real UWO would do something like that.

aha :idea:

Oni-kun
Aug 30th, 2006, 02:25 AM
scam

najibs
Aug 30th, 2006, 02:26 AM
I don't know what to think. I've been paid $50 to attend a one hour focus group, not too long ago.

ratface
Aug 30th, 2006, 07:53 AM
I think its legit, Its from the University of Western Ontario looking from the email sender.
Looks to me like it is to someone at uwo.ca, but the sender is just *****

TCWeasel
Aug 30th, 2006, 09:40 AM
http://www.aaronsnet.com/s/detour/blog/?p=6

cwb27
Aug 30th, 2006, 09:45 AM
Could always email the University and tell them what you've received from an email appearing to be theirs.

SkiLLz
Aug 30th, 2006, 10:22 AM
Ask them if they also sell cheap prescription drugs.

ratface
Aug 30th, 2006, 10:50 AM
i don't think it's real.. if you look at the e-mail topic/subject, "0ffer" instead of "Offer" to bypass the e-mail spam detectors. i highly doubt that the real UWO would do something like that.
wow you noticed that but didn't notice that it wasn't sent by the university... it was sent to a student at the university by persons unknown.

epiphony
Aug 30th, 2006, 11:01 AM
i don't think it's real.. if you look at the e-mail topic/subject, "0ffer" instead of "Offer" to bypass the e-mail spam detectors. i highly doubt that the real UWO would do something like that.

First thing I noticed as well. That and "International Marketing Research Organization" (how phoney sounding) is all in caps to make it sound official.

Anyway, a quick Google search would turn up that this has been around for a while, and thus is likely a scam.

http://maillists.uci.edu/mailman/public/sgtw/2004-December/000227.html