PDA

View Full Version : Found an awesome job in the paper.. Need opinions.


corrupt123
Mar 1st, 2006, 12:51 AM
So just browsing through the paper [the metro], I saw an interesting advertisment. I didnt think much of it, but i did rip it out. Few days later i found it in my pocket, and decided, what the heck, i'll give them a call.

here are the details. The ad said "25 hours a week, pays like full time" for booking hotel reservations (not selling anything over the phone, only talking to people who WANT this service) and then said the average salary was $640/wk which is a HELL of a lot of money in my opinion. I am 17. after that, it just got better and better. the hours were 5:30-10:30 pm weeknights, so i could go afterschool, and I'd still have weekends to myself. Oh, and did i mention the pay?

However, the pay (in the ad) said that was AVERAGE ... so obviously I was suspicious. I called for clarification. They said the following: "our averages are based on the average sales over the last week. Pay is $10 per hour, plus bonuses for booked reservations, plus profit sharing between everyone" I was dumbfounded. They were only paying pennies less per hour then i make now, and thats BEFORE the bonuses! It was too good to be true. I poked around for a scam, and asked a few more questions. They said full training was provided in the add, so i asked if we had to pay for the training (a classic scam) and they said "what?? no, ofcourse not. we pay you!" again, i was stumped. They're located at younge/bloor, a few blocks south on young. on the 6th floor of some building.

so i ask all of you... do you think it's a scam? It really does sound just too damn good to be true. but on the other hand, It is plausable that they could be paying these wages. I mean, if they give you a $10 bonus for booking a reservation, you'd need only book one or two an hour and you're making $20-30 an hour, and that works out fairly to $600ish a week for 25 hours work. They seemed polite and fair talking to them on the phone, and they did have a touch-tone service when you called.

Heres the only things i could think that would indicate it's a scam - so far...
a) when I called, it seemed like it was always the same girl answering. Possible that they only have 1 HR person? (i called over two days)
b) The req's for the job are really low. Good english skills, and a nice personality.
c) I got an interview over the phone, without submitting anything other then my name and phone number.

and if it is a scam.. the only thing I could really see them doing is making you work for them and then not paying you. As far as I know, they arent going to ask me for any money at any point! (they pay me for training, remember?)

Anyways, I'm suspicious, but I'm blinded by the dreams of making $600 a week while im in highschool fulltime. Please, I know you guys have a hell of a lot more experience.. get me some background info and advice. My interview is tomorrow at 3:00 pm, but I'll try and checkback before then.

below are 2 pictures of the ad I saw in the paper.

http://houseofskills.com/image_upload/DSC00415.JPG

http://houseofskills.com/image_upload/DSC00416.JPG

thanks RFD !!!

Alvito
Mar 1st, 2006, 12:53 AM
go for it, if u need the money why not?

corrupt123
Mar 1st, 2006, 12:55 AM
well, i've already got a solid job. I dont want to quit and then be left with nothing at all.

I am going for it. I lose nothing by going for the interview, I'm just curious on some opinions. my parents think it's a scam, but my friends dont. aswell, like I said, I dont see what they intend to do if they are gonna scam me :confused:

DJ_Peanuts22
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:05 AM
ive had a friend go apply for that job 2 weeks ago, this was from an ad in the local community paper, anyways, he showed up for the interview and the place and people there looked too shady to be legit, all of them seem pissed about something. so he walked.

corrupt123
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:08 AM
ive had a friend go apply for that job 2 weeks ago, this was from an ad in the local community paper, anyways, he showed up for the interview and the place and people there looked too shady to be legit, all of them seem pissed about something. so he walked.

LOL!

these are the replies im looking for. thanks guys, keep them coming. I'm going to bed, I'll check in the morning before school and then hopefully once at school.

The wonders of the internet ;)

Alvito
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:08 AM
if it sounds like a scam, like if they try to get money from you or something, just say hey thanks for your time this isnt for me, bye.

nfnx
Mar 1st, 2006, 02:00 AM
i mean its probably not that bad....

my bro got a telemarketing job that paid like 20 bux an hour that booked some kind of travel stuff..... but he quit cause although they werent scammin him as a worker, they were kind of scamming the clientell lol. he had too much morals to stick around.

Steeve Urkel
Mar 1st, 2006, 02:53 AM
I think it might be for one of those companies that books timeshare reservations with hotel rooms maybe?

there is a similar company in ottawa that books for Calabogie peaks? or Calabogie resort.

It used to pay $10 or 12 an hour wich is what most call centres pay from what I know.

I don't know anything about this co, but call centre work is very very very repetitive.

but money is money...

gamovafan
Mar 1st, 2006, 03:13 AM
what I'd like to know is what current you're doing right now because $10+/hour for a 17 year old is pretty damn good living.

deal_lurker
Mar 1st, 2006, 03:28 AM
To the OP:

That posting looks like some kind of marketing thing to me. Think about it... the ad looks like it is one of those too good to be true things designed to make sure the maximum number of people go interview/call that number. It doesn't guarantee an wage... just an 'average' you might do well... you may not. But as you are a student.. it wouldn't hurt to try... but I would be wary for all these things.

Please note... from what you are telling us and for what I suspect... it might be a little misleading as they say you are only 'booking hotel reservations'... you are still 'Selling' as the people that call in to you... do want the service... and have called you to enquire about it... but may in the end they may not necessarily buy/book it from you... and this is the part where you have to sell.

But you could go and try it knowing that it could be what I say. As long as you don't have to pay-out anything (ie like you said for training)... it should be fine to try out. If it doesn't work out... quit... or who knows... you might do spectacular.

purple_rabbit
Mar 1st, 2006, 03:45 AM
i mean its probably not that bad....

my bro got a telemarketing job that paid like 20 bux an hour that booked some kind of travel stuff..... but he quit cause although they werent scammin him as a worker, they were kind of scamming the clientell lol. he had too much morals to stick around.

Yeah I have a friend in Montreal doing that stuff lol...I think he's selling "insurance" or something like that lol I keep telling him this stuff looks bad if he gets caught...well he tells me he needs the money lol...

akito925
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:09 PM
go for the job..

try it out for 1 or 2 weeks.. see what it is all about.. and then if its not what you though tit would be just quit..

xwar
Mar 1st, 2006, 09:56 PM
Don't waste your time buddy

Ryan
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:09 PM
It's telemarketing. There are a number of call centres in the area.

Them "wanting" the service may just mean they ended up on a call list some how (signed up for almost anything anywhere).

Most of these places will fire you if you don't make a sale the first night and that can be easier said then done.

xKagex
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:20 PM
In my experience whenever an advertisement sounds too good to be true, it is. When I've been silly enough to go to an interview for a job like this, it's always a group interview where they basically want to hire a bunch of people to sell knives or something. This is very likely telemarketing or something. It won't do you any harm to go to the interview, but don't quit your job!

runamuck
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:23 PM
perhaps not entirely related to this posting..but sometimes u have to reach a quota by the endof the shift or else u dont get paid at all.... thats the gimmic with some companies who have telejobs.. mostly sales but i suspect this type too as u get comminssions and advantages to do more..

i'd suggest you go with a friend to the site ..even if it is justto check it out

let us know how it turns out..

corrupt123
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:24 PM
yeah, i went for the interview... Big group interview, 15-18 people. Mostly of less then perfect looks (a.k.a. the exact people you'd expect to reply to an add offering tons and tons of cash for no work)

they seemed to have an answer for most/all the questions, and based on the interview I havnt decided it's a scam. I did decide however, it's not worth the risk (of me losing my current job). aswell, they switched up a lot of things. they hours are actually 5:30 - 10:45 weeknighs, and two mandatory sundays a week. Peculiar, no? the pay was the same as they explained... except that you had to book a certain type of reservation in order to get the bonuses, and when someone asked for details on this reservation, they didnt want to answer because "it would take too long to explain" yeah... right. If you dont book atleast 3 reservations a week, you get dropped to $7.50 an hour

aswell, they had daily cash bonuses. For some reason, if theres cash involved, i get a very strong feeling it isnt legit.

Anyways, my friend might give it a shot. he isnt working currently, so he has nothing to lose (unless they make him work, then dont pay him. But we'll get them back like you'd expect teenages to if thats the case :evil: )