View Full Version : how can I block a web sites entirely in firefox?
Roninvancouver
Jun 21st, 2005, 05:51 PM
I keep getting hijacked by http://www.radiantrm.com/ when i browse with firefox here...
generally speaking...how can i block a website in firefox?
thanks
bionicbadger
Jun 21st, 2005, 05:56 PM
use a hosts file.
here is a good one, just add the site in a similar fashion.
http://someonewhocares.org/hosts/
Roninvancouver
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:05 PM
wow - that's complicated
i have several hosts files in E:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc so which one do i open? hosts? or hosts.bho? or lmhosts.sam? or???
then how do i tell firefox NOT to open a site..
# 127.0.0.1 yahoo.com
or without the "#" thing in front of it?
Do I have to restart the PC to have it take effect?
:confused: :confused: :confused:
elty
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:12 PM
wow - that's complicated
i have several hosts files in E:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc so which one do i open? hosts? or hosts.bho? or lmhosts.sam? or???
then how do i tell firefox NOT to open a site..
# 127.0.0.1 yahoo.com
or without the "#" thing in front of it?
Do I have to restart the PC to have it take effect?
:confused: :confused: :confused:
the # indicate that line is just COMMENT thus have no effect
Roninvancouver
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:17 PM
so would the comment in "hosts" like below block the offending site?
127.0.0.1 radiantrm.com
Txiasaeia
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:18 PM
1. Go to add/remove programs
2. Click on Firefox
3. Click "remove"
4. Go to www.opera.com
5. Download opera
6. Install opera
Problem solved ;)
Seriously, you're getting hijacked by this site whenever you browse RFD? I've not used Firefox before, but it seems to me that you might want to simply switch if you're having problems of this magnitude.
Roninvancouver
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:19 PM
but it seems to me that you might want to simply switch if you're having problems of this magnitude.
so is there another canadian deals site you would recommend? :)
Absolute
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:19 PM
wow - that's complicated
i have several hosts files in E:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc so which one do i open? hosts? or hosts.bho? or lmhosts.sam? or???
then how do i tell firefox NOT to open a site..
# 127.0.0.1 yahoo.com
or without the "#" thing in front of it?
Do I have to restart the PC to have it take effect?
:confused: :confused: :confused:
Open E:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in notepad.
Enter a line at the bottom saying:
127.0.0.1 www.radiantrm.com
And no, it takes effect immediately so there is no need to reboot.
By the way, it's not hijacking your browser it's just an ad server that RFD uses.
Absolute
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:21 PM
Problem solved ;)
Seriously, you're getting hijacked by this site whenever you browse RFD? I've not used Firefox before, but it seems to me that you might want to simply switch if you're having problems of this magnitude.
Not quite; it's not a browser problem, it's RFD that's causing his problem. When the web page loads from RFD it has some HTML code telling the browser to download an image from that website, that contains the ads.
Their server is slow right now, so the loading of RFD hangs for a bit while the borwser tried to connect to the ad server.
Roninvancouver
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:22 PM
thanks; that worked!!
ps...and wow...RFD wayyy faster now that i have blocked that site
rilhouse
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:54 PM
i just used ad block on http://www.radiantrm.com/*
Absolute
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:58 PM
Don't forget this may mean less revenue for RFD, if you block the ad sites.
rilhouse
Jun 21st, 2005, 06:59 PM
if it didn't cause such a slowdown then i wouldn't have. :|
Absolute
Jun 21st, 2005, 07:02 PM
if it didn't cause such a slowdown then i wouldn't have. :|
Agreed; I'll probably do it with that site and RealNetworks, since they're both slow, until they speed up.
hagbard
Jun 21st, 2005, 07:10 PM
I didn't block that site, but there's not problem at the moment anyway so dont' go thinking that blocking worked (it may but you can't tell that).
snplow
Jun 21st, 2005, 07:16 PM
Open E:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts in notepad.
Enter a line at the bottom saying:
127.0.0.1 www.radiantrm.com
And no, it takes effect immediately so there is no need to reboot.
By the way, it's not hijacking your browser it's just an ad server that RFD uses.
I will need to take note how to do that before I block RFD, Fark and other sites when university starts.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.